Grazyna Bacewicz: The Voice of a Lost Generation

Document Type

Grant Proposal

Date Accepted

Spring 2004

Project Description/Abstract

Polish composer Grazyna Bacewicz was one of the most prolific and talented composers of the 20th century yet her music for the piano, unlike her string works, has been largely forgotten. Though, like many Polish composers of the post World War II era, she was isolated musically from the rest of the world and her works were censored by the Polish government, Bacewicz succeeded in creating a style that was both modern and connected to the musical traditions of the past. Works like the Sonata No. 2 and the Ten Concert Etudes were heralded by critics in the 1950’s as masterpieces yet are largely unknown to present audiences. Through this grant I will record the piano works of Grazyna Bacewicz on compact disc. In addition, as a result of the study and research that goes into this project, I will present performances and workshops on the life and compositions of this fascinating woman.

This document is currently not available here.