Since the Antarctic Treaty came into force in 1961, the signatory states have cooperated in the region and international conflicts have not been allowed to intrude. In Antarctica, politics has indeed made for “strange bedfellows”; included among the major treaty states are the United States, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom, Argentina and Chile. Yet, Antarctica remains an oasis of stability in spite of the fall of east-west detente, the Falkland/Malvinas Conflict and until recently, a simmering dispute between Chile and Argentina over rights in the Beagle Channel. Recently, however, both external and internal challenges have surfaced which threaten the viability of the Antarctic Treaty system.

Note on the Author

Paul F. Jean graduated from Bridgewater State College in 1983 with a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science. John-Paul Rosario graduated from Bridgewater State College in 1980 with a Bachelor of Science Degree in Political Science.